July Favorites

Summer is winding down, and I can practically feel Fall coming! But, July has come to a close, and that means it is time for a Favorites post! Keep reading below for my favorites from July – the most Summery month of them all!

ENTERTAINMENT

  • TV SHOW:
    • How I Met Your Mother: Ok, I have a confession. As I am writing this post on August 9, I HIGHLY regret listing this as my favorite TV show of July. Don’t get me wrong – the show was great and funny and I loved it – UNTIL I WATCHED THE LAST TWO EPISODES. Begin Rant: How could the writers of that show even consider ending the series that way?! I mean, basically the entire purpose of the series was unraveled within those last two installments. I was not happy at all with the way it ended. So, my suggestion is: definitely watch the show! It’s hilarious and cute and heart-warming – but if you love the show and the direction it is going in…don’t watch the last two!how-i-met-your-mother-banner
  • MOVIE:
    • The Late Bloomer: While we were in Charleston, SC on our vacation, my husband and I were faced with a long, rainy afternoon. After power-walking a mile in the pouring rain back to our hotel, we settled in to watch a movie. Rather than scouring Netflix for two hours, we narrowed it down to a couple of choices, and ultimately picked this movie. It is a romantic comedy boasting a few familiar faces that tells the story of a guy in his twenties who never went through puberty as young boy. It’s funny! A good movie to watch on a rainy day – or if you want a laugh and a good love story.

mv5bmjuwnjiznzy5mv5bml5banbnxkftztgwnzq1mzk5ote-_v1_

  • MUSIC:
    • Red Jumpsuit Apparatus: I bet you didn’t even know this band was still around! RJA came onto the scene when I was in high school with their hit single “Face Down.” Since then, they’ve release a few more albums. I had the opportunity to see them live a couple of summers ago, and I loved it! This is seriously one of my top 5 favorite bands. Their latest album, 4, has some great songs on it that I love to jam out to on my way to work. Also, they have announced that there will be a new single and album out soon!
      red-jumpsuit-apparatus
  • BOOK:
    • Outlander by Diana Gabaldon: PSA – I finally finished this book! It has been an 11-month journey (I put this book down to pick up others over the past year), and I think this is the longest book I have ever read. After Claire and Jamie got married, and once I started watching the TV series, I began flying through the pages. I think it is easily one of the best books I have ever read, and I already have Dragonfly in Amber on my shelf ready to read.

outlander-blue-cover-198x300

CRAFTS/HOBBIES

  • The Happy Planner: Faith Edition & Faith Sticker Value Pack:
    • This year, I really made it a goal for myself to get in the habit of a daily Bible study. My go-to Bible study is with She Reads Truth. Check it out! Anyway, after a few unsuccessful tries, I felt that if I had a dated system for keeping my notes each day, it would be easier to keep up with and also go back to fill in any days I missed. So, enter The Happy Planner: Faith Edition. This planner is sold at Hobby Lobby and on the Me And My Big Ideas website. It is a horizontal layout, making it perfect for taking notes. Each Sunday, I sit down with my planner and use a couple of stickers from the value pack to pre-decorate my weekly spread. I don’t use a lot of stickers, though, because I really need the space to keep my notes!

aab2ea2b8e85cd3c83de05710c6386d7c1

il_570xn-1112858794_elhf

SELF-CARE

  • NOT YOUR MOTHER’S CLEAN FREAK REFRESHING DRY SHAMPOO
    • I never thought I would be a dry shampoo kind of girl. Honestly. Then I started working out every day. I try my best to wake up early and get my workouts in before work. When I get a pretty intense workout in, my hair can be pretty gross (I’m not going to sugar coat the truth here). I do shower every day, but it takes a long time and a lot of effort to dry and style my hair. So, this dry shampoo completely gets rid of the sweaty, oily look in my hair and lets me wear it normally without washing it. It’s awesome! Now, my hair is light brown/blonde, so I usually don’t have any issues with white residue from the dry shampoo, but I’m not sure how well it works for those with dark hair.

41im2mamvel-_sx466_

  • LUSH BATH BOMBS
    • You guys. Where have these been all my life?? While in Charleston on vacay, I saw a Lush store, and I knew I HAD to go in. I have been hearing and seeing a lot about Lush – and especially their bath bombs – on Instagram. So, since I had the opportunity to go in and check them out for myself, I picked up a couple to try. I got the two new ones: Yellow Submarine and Metamorphosis. I tried the Yellow Submarine after we got home from our trip, and it was weird, but cool. I was a little weirded out by my bath water being pink, but the water felt so good, and the smell was amazing! I can’t wait to try my second one!

w_hero_yellow_submarine_bathbomb

FOOD

  • MONZA PIZZA IN DOWNTOWN CHARLESTON:
    • We tried this pizza restaurant in Charleston, and I was so good! They serve wood fired pizzas. We got the Ronnie Peterson pizza, which had chicken, artichokes, pesto, garlic, and cheese on it. SO GOOD! Would recommend if you’re in Charleston!
      homepagemonza
  • KILWIN’S CHOCOLATES:
    • I discovered this chocolate shop while visiting Asheville, NC earlier this summer with my husband and our friends. OMG. It is perfect. They have various chocolate treats, fudge, and they serve ice cream. I thought it was a local place in Asheville. Little did I know I was wrong until we came across a shop in Charleston! I was so excited!! My favorite treat to get there is their chocolate covered rice krispy treats. (white chocolate, of course)

kilwins_logo

HOME GOODS

  • Gurunanda Mini Tree USB Essential Oil Diffuser:
    • I was shopping at Big Lots last month during their 20% off weekend, and saw this kit with an oil diffuser plus two oils for only $20! (plus, 20% off!) I have been wanting an oil diffuser for so long, and I couldn’t pass this one up. It came packaged with two essential oils: Peppermint and Patchouli. I have it plugged into the wall with an old cell phone wall adapter (which I’m thinking isn’t the best idea). The changing color lights are a little glitchy at times, and it often doesn’t stay on for the 3-4 hours that the package say. BUT, I think it is great for the price I paid for it.

minitree_large

Thanks again for reading, everyone! I hope you enjoyed my favorites for July! Let me know what your favorites for July are in the comments. P.S. How excited are you for Fall, and what is your favorite Fall item??

Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you on the next page!

Leave a Reply

