May Favorites

Hi everyone! I know this post is a bit on the late side, but it’s here nonetheless! Keep reading to see my favorites for the month of May:

ENTERTAINMENT

  • TV SHOW:
    • How I Met Your Mother: My husband and I started watching this show – probably in April – but it quickly became one of my favorites! Now, I am not much of a sitcom person, but Daniel really likes them, so I enjoy watching them with him. HIMYM is witty and interesting, and the story already has me hooked! I was already a Jason Segel fan (hello I Love You, Man), so I love his character. And then Barney is just hilarious! Ironically enough, Daniel and I both agree that the main character, Ted, is our least favorite. If you haven’t watched this show, and are looking for something casual and funny, I would recommend it!how-i-met-your-mother-banner
  • MOVIE:
    • La La Land: My sister and I watched this movie on May 31st (just enough time for me to put it in my favorites). And I loved it! My sister and I have always been huge musical fans, so it was awesome to spend time with her and watch this movie. While I don’t think Ryan Gosling or Emma Stone are great singers, the music in this movie was amazing! I am also a piano player, so I very much appreciated the emphasis on that throughout the movie. You guys, this was such a symbolic and beautiful movie, I could literally write a paper on it (because I’m just nerdy like that). All in all, it was amazing and definitely reminded of my marching band/colorguard days. (This would make a wonderful half time show!!!)

26oscarsposter4-articlelarge

  • MUSIC:
    • 94Z Knoxville’s Alternative Rock: So, I came across this station a couple of months ago, and I am officially obsessed. This is probably way out of character for the normal 25-year-old female – but I like it! Their morning show is hilarious and cool (because they talk about Star Wars and stuff), and almost every day, I am discovering new songs and bands I like. This is also the only local station I know of that will play my faves, like Muse and 30 Seconds to Mars. Here are some new favorite songs I have come across in May on 94Z:
      • Kill for Candy by Dreamcar
      • She Said by Sundara Karma
      • Winning as Truth by Trapdoor Social
        wnfz2015a
  • BOOK:
    • Read, Write, Love at Seaside by Addison Cole: First off, can we appreciate how close the title of this book is to my blog name?? Anyway, I received an advanced copy of this book to review, and I loved it! The love story was so cute, and I loved how it was set in Cape Cod – perfect summer read! Check out my full review here. 

34845082

 

CRAFTS/HOBBIES

  • Paper Mate Flair Pens:
    • I bought these pens to use in my planners, and they are wonderful! I just bought the smallest pack at Target, which included Pink, Purple, Green, Orange and Blue. These pens write very smoothly for a felt-tipped pen, and the best part is, the ink doesn’t bleed through the pages in my planners!
      814ix7b9sml-_ac_ul320_sr200320_
  • Owl Sticky Note Set:
    • My aunt got this for me for my birthday, and I have been using it non-stop! I took it to work with me, so I use it for various things there, but also use them to pre-plan for weeks and months ahead in my planner! Plus, I love owls and these are adorable!

owl-sticky-note-set

SELF-CARE

  • DR. TEAL’S COCONUT OIL EPSOM SALT SOAKING SOLUTION
    •  Guys, there’s nothing better at the end of a long day or week than a nice long bath. I am pretty serious about my baths too – we’re talking candles, a tv show or book, and anything to make it as relaxing as possible. I have been a big fan of Dr. Teal’s products for a few years now, and I just got this coconut oil epsom salt soak in May – and it is amazing! It smells like summer, and just make for a nice soothing bath. And the epsom salts are great for my muscles after my workouts!91tgpchlf7l-_sl1500_

FOOD

  • SMOOTHIES:
    • Since I have been doing the Tone It Up Bikini Series, I have been loving smoothies! They are so simple and yummy, and by including protein powder in them, they help me refuel after my workouts! Tone It Up has countless smoothie and smoothie bowl recipes, but there are also a bunch on Pinterest. A couple of my favorites are the Orange Dreamsicle Smoothie and the Berry Cauliflower Smoothie.
      40806d4c69644e8eeac0e4806f0e4676
  • ICE CREAM:
    • Very similar to smoothies, I have been loving, I mean LOVING, ice cream lately. I’ll take it in any form – cone, pint, milkshake. It is the perfect summer treat! And it is always fun to try out new local ice cream shops 🙂
      brustersicecream

HOME GOODS

  • Pantry Organization:
    • So I finally got my pantry organized in May! All I did was clean it out and throw away all the junk or bad food, and then reorganized what I had left! I bought some simple plastic containers at The Dollar Tree and some glass containers at Hobby Lobby. I love having it organized! Now if I can just get Daniel to put things in the right spot…. 😉 The pictures below are examples of the types of containers I got!

6e7bed5072fa268cf02d0ffb14ce2f0a853820_15jar

Thanks again for reading, everyone! I hope you enjoyed my favorites for May! What were some of your favorites last month? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you on the next page!

Leave a Reply

