Book Review: The Fever Code by James Dashner

23267628The Fever Code

By: James Dashner

Release Date: September 27, 2016

Source: Purchased at Barnes & Noble

Goodreads Summary: Once there was a world’s end.

The forests burned, the lakes and rivers dried up, and the oceans swelled.

Then came a plague, and fever spread across the globe. Families died, violence reigned, and man killed man.

Next came WICKED, who were looking for an answer. And then they found the perfect boy.

The boy’s name was Thomas, and Thomas built a maze.

Now there are secrets.

There are lies.

And there are loyalties history could never have foreseen.

This is the story of that boy, Thomas, and how he built a maze that only he could tear down.

All will be revealed.

Review

*WARNING: Spoilers Ahead*

 

I am a pretty big fan of The Maze Runner series by James Dashner, and I knew I would definitely be reading this book when I heard it was coming out. I first read the other four books in the series about three years ago before the first movie was released. I loved that this YA dystopian/post-apocalyptic book had a male lead. It was a nice contrast to The Hunger Games and Divergent at the time.

Anyway, The Fever Code is technically book 0.6 in the series, meaning it takes place just before The Maze Runner. We begin with Thomas as a young boy having just been taken by Wicked and beginning his journey.

As the book moves on through the years, we see Thomas meet his friends – Teresa, Alby, Minho, Newt, Chuck – and they are all happy and naive. Thomas and Teresa (Along with Rachel and Aris) are considered to be the “special” candidates – and they help to build the maze.

That’s right.

Thomas helped build the maze he would eventually be trapped in.

I don’t want to completely spoil the end of this book for any of you that haven’t read it yet, but it was heartbreaking for me. To learn Thomas’s journey in Wicked and then how he comes to be in the maze was so emotional to me as the reader. You learn where Thomas’s loyalties lie – and where those of his friends and leaders lie as well. I’m not sure what else to say without giving it away!

Needless to say, I loved this book. The farther I dove into the chapters, the quicker I started to read them, and I became engrossed with the story. Dashner has a fantastic way of connecting the reader to this futuristic world – one that we could hardly relate to (Grievers??). But while you’re reading it, it seems so real.

The imagery is amazing – but so is the character development. In this book, I got to see all of my favorite characters from the series before they were ever in the maze – when they still had their memories. This made me love them even more, and also made my heart break for them when they were put into the maze.

This book is a perfect addition the the series, and really helps to flesh out the story and give the audience the answer to “Why the Maze?”

I was so happy reading this book, that the next day I actually watched The Maze Runner movie so I could continue on with the story. Overall, I loved this book. After a couple of years away from the series, it was great to be immersed in this world again!

Rating: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

