Book Review: Romancing the Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

25664525Romancing the Nerd

By:  Leah Rae Miller

Release Date: April 5, 2016

Source: Entangled Teen

Goodreads Summary: Dan Garrett has become exactly what he hates—popular. Until recently, he was just another live-action role-playing (LARP) geek on the lowest run of the social ladder. Cue a massive growth spurt and an uncanny skill at taking three-point shots in basketball and voila…Mr. Popular. It’s definitely weird.

And the biggest drawback? Going from high school zero to basketball hero cost Dan the secret girl-of-his-dorky dreams.

A tuba-playing nerd with an eclectic fashion sense, Zelda Potts’s “Coolness” stat is about minus forty-two. Dan turning his back on her and the rest of nerd-dom was brutal enough, but when he humiliates her at school, Zelda decides it’s time for a little revenge—dork style. Nevermind that she used to have a crush on him. Nevermind that her plan could backfire big time.

It’s time to roll the dice…and hope like freakin’ hell she doesn’t lose her heart in the process.

Review: When I saw the title and cover of this book, I knew I had to read and review it! Coming from myself (who owned nearly enough pairs of converse to wear a different pair each day for three weeks at one point), I was excited to see what kind of nerd-isms this book would hold.

Dan Garrett pulled me in from the very start. He is a loveable geek high schooler (who you just know is good-looking). This is my favorite type of character! And Zelda Potts was the geeky girl who is really strong on the inside. Miller has done a wonderful job of rounding out these characters and making them perfect for each other.

I found myself smiling throughout this contemporary teen novel. Each reference to Lord of the Rings or Star Wars made me smile or giggle. The plot was very engaging too! It’s not every day that the girl actually seeks revenge on the guy when he has no idea that she is even that angry with him.

This book was basically like an adorable, geeky, teen version of the show Catfish. I thought the characters were great, as well as the storyline. Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who appreciates YA Contemporary and has a love of nerdy things.

Rating: 4 Stars

 

Thank you for reading my review of Romancing the Nerd by Leah Rae Miller! Since I’m finally settled into my new house, hopefully I can become more consistent with my posts here on Read, Write, Design. Thank you to all of you for being patient with me and coming back to see new content. See you on the next page!

Leave a Reply

