Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read if You’re in the Mood for Nostalgia

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each Tuesday, a new list is prompted, and book bloggers display their answers!

Topic for March 1, 2016: Top Ten Books to Read if You’re in the Mood for Nostalgia

So this topic is a bit different from the TTTs I’ve done so far. This week I chose to make a list of books that make me feel nostalgic about my younger years. This is going to be fun!

Here are my top ten childhood books (in no particular order):

  1.  The Arthur Trilogy by Kevin Crossley-Holland – This trilogy IS my childhood. I discovered these books in fourth grade when my best friend pointed them out to me. I have always loved the Arthurian legend, and this is a very interesting take on it. Check it out on Goodreads! It’s about this boy named Arthur who is living a normal life in crusade-era england. He has an obsidian stone in which he can see stories of the Once and Future King, and those stories begin to intermingle with his own life. JUST READ IT! So good 🙂
  2. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis – I have read all the way up through Prince Caspian in this series. It is an iconic series for children. Each book transports the reader to a new story, but those stories also come together. The movies based on the three Pevensie children books are good as well!
  3. Amelia Bedelia by Peggy Parish – I remember read this short little picture book over and over again in elementary school! It’s pretty hilarious. Check it out or read it to your kids! They’ll love it 🙂
  4. Junie B. Jones by Barbara Park – My third grade teacher would read these cute books to us during class. I remember loving them!
  5. Goosebumps by R.L. Stine – iconic, scary, but fun reads! We owned so many of these growing up (and my mom still has them)! I remember sitting under the trees in our front yard and just reading a whole on of these in a day during the summer.
  6. Dr. Seuss books – my grandparents had a huge stock of Dr. Seuss books, and they would keep my sister and I occupied during every visit! They are a must read for any kid!
  7. The Babysitters Club by Ann M. Martin – you can’t be a young girl in the 90s and early 2000s without reading this series. I was pretty obsessed with them, and I even remember the movie they made…yep.
  8. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snickett – I read most of these books in middle school I believe. They are so (sad) but also really good reads. It’s crazy what the Baudelaire children get into. I also remember renting the movie with Jim Carey, although I don’t think I liked it very much.
  9. Nancy Drew by Carolyn Keene – Every week when we would go to the library in elementary school, I remember almost always checking out a Nancy Drew book. Back then I loved the mystery, but I hardly ever read mysteries now. Weird.
  10. Dear America series by various authors – Gosh it took me forever to remember what these books were called! I used to LOVE these historical fiction books! The were also really cool because they were hardcover with the jagged-like diary pages and a ribbon bookmark 🙂

So there’s my TTT this week! I know that a lot of these probably weren’t what you were expecting. I know, I know. I still need to read Harry Potter…and Holes…and Percy Jackson, etc. But I’m working on it!

What did you choose for your TTT this week? Let me know in the comments below, and please share your thoughts on my post as well! Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you on the next page!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read if You’re in the Mood for Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

