Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Read Out of my Typical Genre

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each Tuesday, a new list is prompted, and book bloggers display their answers!

Topic for February 23, 2016: Top Ten Books I’ve Read Out of my Typical Genre(s)

Hey everyone! I’m here with another Top Ten Tuesday. Going strong since New Year’s with my resolution to do every TTT in 2016 woot!

I’m not sure that I’ll actually have ten answers for this topic. I usually stick to Young Adult and YA Fantasy, but we’ll see how it goes!

  1.  You’re Still the One by Rachel Harris – So this book is a new adult romance book that I recently reviewed for Entangled Publishing. I don’t really read romance novels, but I always love a good love story. This one was sooooo good! If you want a quick, feel-good read, I would suggest you try this one!
  2. Coach Maddie and the Marine by Blaire Edens – Another new adult romance! This was a good solid read, but not as good as You’re Still the One. You can see my review here!
  3. Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier – This book was actually assigned in my 11th grade AP English class. At the time, I pretty much hated it (probably because I was forced to read it). But looking back on it now, it was actually very good. I bought a used copy of it about a year ago, and I can’t wait to reread it sometime!
  4. The Road by Cormac McCarthy – Yet another assigned book from AP English. This book. It’s creepy, but it has a deeper meaning to it. I’d say this book is adult fiction but it’s also post-apocalyptic, so yeah. It’s good and the movie is fairly decent too!
  5. 1984 by George Orwell – wow let’s just thank AP English for most of these… This. Book. Is. Amazing. I absolutely loved reading this story! It’s so original and draws you in. It’s also cool to read it in the 2000’s, since the society is so advanced for the year 1984. It’s a must read. And I’m going to go ahead and say that if you read this book, go listen to the Resistance album by Muse. So many tie-ins!!

Ok so I only had five…at least according to the books I’ve listed as “Read” on Goodreads. I know I have a growing list of books that I’d like to read that are branching out of my normal genres. So, maybe I can keep adding to this list!

What’s on your TTT this week? Please let me know any thoughts you have and link your TTT in the comments below. Click “Like” if you liked this post.

Thanks guys! See you on the next page 🙂

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Read Out of my Typical Genre

  1. Carrianne says:

    I love new adult romance! It’s so much more relatable, but I agree in that for me,,m it’s hard to find one that I love.

    I feel like everyone was reading 1985 in high school while my AP class read Slaughterhouse-Five. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it, but 1984 is still on my tbr (as well as Animal Farm).

    Here’s my TTT if you’re interested. (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

