Top Ten Tuesday: Historical/Futuristic Settings I Love

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each Tuesday, a new list is prompted, and book bloggers display their answers!

Topic for February 2, 2016: Top Ten Historical/Futuristic Settings I Love

Happy Groundhog Day!! (That’s a thing right?) Anyway, for today’s TTT, I’m bringing you my top 5 historic and my top 5 futuristic settings that I love to read about…not that I’d necessarily want to be in.

Here we go!

Historical Settings:

  • Middle Earth – The Hobbit, Lord of the Rings, The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkein
    • Come on. Who doesn’t love this setting?! At the very least you have to love the elven cities, like Rivendell and Lothlorien. They are soooo pretty 🙂
  • Medieval Times – The Arthur Trilogy by Kevin Crossley-Holland
    • I have been a fan of medieval times as long as I can remember. King Arthur is a legend that I hold near and dear. I know that in reality, that era isn’t very glamorous, but I still love the culture and developments that were made!
  • The Civil War – Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
    • You can’t get any more American-history than the Civil War. I’ve read some great books set in this period, and there are also a ton of great movies and even tv series set in this period.
  • 1950s/1960s – The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

*NOTE: my tablet decided to not connect to the internet and no drafts of my post were saved…so half of my post was deleted. 😦

Futuristic Settings:

  • Post-Apocalyptic Chicago – Divergent series by Veronica Roth
    • I’m already slightly obsessed with Chicago so…
  • 1984 – as in 1984 by George Orwell
    • Not quite as cool as the real year of 1984, plus thought police would suck. But this book is great!
  • Arborlon – The Shannara Chronicles by Terry Brooks
    • Take middle earth and put it in a post-apocalyptic futuristic world. Now you have the world of Shannara. I’m really close to starting the book!
  • Panem – The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
    • A setting I love to read about but wouldn’t want to actually be in…
  • Glade/Scorch – The Maze Runner series by James Dashner
    • *See under Panem

Alright guys, I had a more elaborate post typed out, but lost it due to my internet not cooperating. Oh well! What is on you TTT this week?

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on the next page!

 

Leave a Reply

