Book Review: Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

6339664Hush, Hush

By: Becca Fitzpatrick

Release Date: October 13, 2009

Source: own copy

Goodreads SummaryRomance was not part of Nora Grey’s plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgement.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.

Review: I stumbled upon this book at a thrift store for just $2 one day, and having heard so many great things about it on blogs and BookTube, I decided that I couldn’t pass it up. The summary had me pretty excited to read it from the very start. Fallen angels? Now, that sounded like a perfect book to read in October and around Halloween!

Hush, Hush follows Nora Grey and her life in high school. But Nora doesn’t have a typical high schooler’s life. Still grieving from her father’s recent passing, Nora meets Patch, a mysterious student in her biology class, and the story blossoms from there. I don’t want to give you guys too many spoilers!

Nora and Grey had the perfect amount of chemistry for me. And Patch was so mysterious! That always makes for a great love story.

As for the entire story itself, the plot twists, mystery, and action kept me turning pages and going from chapter to chapter. I couldn’t put this book down! It was also very creepy…but in a good way.

Fitzpatrick’s writing was exceptional, and I could envision each and every scene in my head as I read the words. I really wish this series would be turned into movies! I think they would be great!

But other than Nora and Patch’s central story, I found myself also connected to secondary characters, like Vee and Nora’s mom. The characters are so real – they probably will remind you of someone you know in real life.

Hush, Hush was a great read! You may think you have all of the answers, but as soon as you think that…plot twist! This book made me want to read in any free minute I had, and I would highly recommend it!

Rating: 4.5 stars

 

Thanks for reading my review of Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick! I hope this inspires you to read the book, or leave your comments below if you’ve already read it! I really did fall in love with this story. I’m already reading the second book in the series, Crescendo. It started out a bit rocky, but I’m really getting into it now!
Let me know what you think in the comments below! Happy reading and I’ll see you on the next page!

Leave a Reply

