Book Review: Lost in Geeklandia by E.J. Russell

Lost in Geeklandia

By: E.J. Russell

Release Date: September 28, 2015

Source: Publisher

Goodreads SummaryIntroverted computer engineer Charlie Forrester has coded an algorithm for love, a nearly flawless matchmaking program. But then she’s challenged to prove its accuracy – on herself. With her dream job on the line, Charlie has thirty days to forge a romantic relationship with her “perfect” match…her ex-friend and now-nemesis, Daniel Shawn. Since her dating experience is expressed in binary, she’ll need more than flirting lessons and a wardrobe overhaul to pull it off.

After falling victim to the same online matchmaking con he was investigating, reporter Daniel Shawn’s professional reputation went up in flames. Now he suspects someone has rebooted the scam, and he’s determined to expose the fraud and rebuild his career. Unfortunately, his efforts to get back in the game get sidetracked by Charlie and her adorable geekitude, even though she seems to know a little too much about digital dating for Daniel’s comfort.

And when fake romance crosses into real chemistry, Charlie’s formula for love might just be the perfect formula for disaster…

Review: Entangled Publishing sent me this book for review a few weeks ago, and I actually got the opportunity to review it in time for the release date. My first impressions were really good! First of all, the cover is gorgeous…look at those colors. Second, the title told me that this book was bound to have a bit of nerd-isms in it.

Well, this story is full of nerd-isms. From Star Trek to computer terminology and just about everything in between, each chapter held some reference or definition. While the computer terminology at the start of each chapter began to make sense after a while, I began to find the Star Trek and other nerdy references somewhat redundant as I continued reading.

Don’t get me wrong, I love nerdy things! But I think there could have been more diverse references made rather than the strong tie to Star Trek. That aside, I think Lost in Geeklandia was a great story. Following the typical romantic comedy plot line, I was engrossed with Daniel and Charlie from the beginning.

Their story is cute (and while it is also strictly PG-13), I found it to be heart-warming. Coming from a journalism background, I could see Daniel’s point of view, but my introverted style held close to Charlie as well.

Russell has done a great job of weaving a story that readers will find humorous, surprising, endearing, and entertaining. I even found myself invested in the secondary characters as well.

If you ever have the chance or free time to skim through this short novel, it will make you smile, frown, laugh, swoon, and (maybe) cry (tears of happiness).

*This is somewhat of a romance novel. If you are under the age of 13, I suggest asking for parental permission to read. Thanks!*

Rating: 3.5 stars

Thanks for checking out my review of Lost in Geeklandia! Let me know if you’ve read this or any similar books. See you on the next page!

Leave a Reply

