Booktube (blogger) Newbie Tag!

Hi everyone! I’m Katey, a 23-year-old lover of books, tv, movies, music, and basically all things entertainment! So, this is going to be my very first blog post about books and I’m super excited! The original post was created by Brenda C. on youtube. Here goes!

Question 1: Why did you start this channel/blog?

My sister taught me to read before I even started Kindergarten, and I have never stopped reading. Sure, there have been reading slumps (like that time I made a B in reading in 2nd grade…it ruined me), but I always come back to books. I started college as an English major and took tons of lit classes and creative writing (which I hated…shocker!). But when I realized I didn’t want to be a teacher, I switched over to communications. Still lots of writing, plus I’m now a journalist! So the written word is something that has always been powerful to me and helped shape me as a person.

Question 2: What are some fun and unique things you can bring to booktube/blogging?

Well this one is tough. I like to think that I can give a different perspective on books than others. There’s a quote that says “no two people ever read the same book.” I very much agree with that. I am here to tell you my honest opinion about books. Perhaps I can bring some of my journalism and graphic design background to the table as well!

Question 3: What are you most excited for about this new channel/blog?

I am so excited to share my love of books with people like myself! I recently discovered booktube and book blogs, and it just seemed like the perfect diverse and unique group of people who are all drawn together by a common thread. I’m excited to connect with other bloggers and learn about new books!

Question 4: Why do you love reading?

How can you not love reading? (Well, maybe not a good question. My mom could tell you why she doesn’t like it…) I love reading because it can really make the crappiest day so much better for me. Books have the power to transport the reader into whatever world or time that is presented. Also, books have a way of impacting you as a person. They can bring new perspectives and ideas into your life and help to mold and form your own personality.

Question 5: What book or book series got you into reading?

Ok, this one is easy. I know the first series I ever read that I fell in love with and made me want to read. And that is The Arthur Trilogy by Kevin Crossley-Holland. This might not be a well-known series, but I started reading these books in fourth grade, which sparked my interest in reading and in the Arthurian Legend. There are three books: The Seeing Stone, At the Crossing-Places, and King of the Middle March. I’m sure they would be considered middle grade novels, but they are phenomenal! I would die to see this series made into a tv series or movie!

Question 6: What questions would you ask your favorite booktuber/blogger?

I just discovered booktube about two weeks ago, and stumbled upon channels like abookutopiareadbyzoeperuseproject, and peacelovebooksxo. I would probably ask them for book recommendations and tips on how to start book blogging/a booktube channel.

Question 7: What challenges do you think starting a booktube channel/book blog will be hardest to overcome?

Ok, first of all I think it will be hard to read as many books as some of these other book bloggers. Kudos to those guys! I love reading, but I do have a full time job and I’m about to get married, so finding time to read a ton of books will be hard. And second, I think it will be a challenge for me to maintain my blog. This is my first blog, and updating it daily/weekly is something that I’m most likely going to have to schedule.

Ok everyone! That’s my booktube (blogger) newbie tag post! Since I’m new at this, I’m going to tag anyone who sees this or any newbies that stumble upon my post. Keep checking for new posts, and please don’t hate me if it’s a slow start to book blogging. 😉

See you on the next page!

Leave a Reply

